Chicken Enchiladas

8 Apr

Bon appetit!

Today’s healthy recipe is Chicken Enchiladas, a sure crowd pleaser! This recipe does not require any oil and butter, just Pam spray. In fact, the only significant source of fat is the cheddar cheese. Pretty good, huh? The chicken is boiled in water and later shredded for addition to a mixture of light sour cream, cheese, and other ingredients. The enchiladas are topped with a homemade salsa of tomatoes, green bell pepper, freshly chopped cilantro, and lime juice. It’s a delicious meal that will leave you feeling satisfied without guilt!

I made a recipe card for this a few months ago, and discovered it recently when I was cleaning out my side table drawers. And if you are wondering what kind of person meticulously writes out a recipe and then uses COLOR to enhance the name…well, I go out of my way to do things sometimes- perhaps it is an expression of perfectionism. So lucky for me, I don’t have to write out today’s recipe! Simply take a peek at the front and back of the recipe card below.

Just one thing to modify for the last step. Bake for 5 minutes instead of 10 (until cheese melts), and then BROIL for another 5 minutes until the cheese is browned.

I have highlighted a few of the steps below…

Fresh salsa

Tortilla stuffing

Spray each tortilla lightly with Pam, spoon on filling, and roll as shown

Roll ’em up

Place torillas side by side in pan sprayed with Pam

Reminds me of pigs in a blanket!

Spread salsa evenly on top

Bon appetit! Or should I say…eat up, my muchachos and muchachas!

7 Responses to “Chicken Enchiladas”

  1. gretaskinner April 8, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

    Fresh salsa is one of my most craved dipping dishes….your looks so beautiful and fresh that I just might have to make some myself!

    • luvnorcal April 8, 2012 at 9:04 pm #

      Thanks for the comment and the follow! And yes, the salsa really ups the flavor of the whole dish.

  2. Noor Hadi P April 9, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

    woow seems very delicious .. ^_^
    do you like cooking??

    • luvnorcal April 9, 2012 at 3:36 pm #

      Thanks. Yes, I enjoy it a lot!

      • Noor Hadi P April 9, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

        since when do you like cooking??
        how much of food you has been made?
        ohh ya, what’s your name??
        greetings, i’m from Indonesia 🙂

  3. Scrooples April 27, 2012 at 1:26 am #

    yumola

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Recipes, cookbooks, and future directions | Living for the next meal - March 24, 2013

    […] release/tasting party at my mom’s hospital. In addition to this one, I also had recipes for Chicken Enchiladas and Chickpea and Potato Curry printed in this employee cookbook. All the recipes are signed off with […]

Leave a comment