Sweet Potato and Spinach Mac and Cheese

7 Jan

DSC_0012[1]

If this sounds delectable then you are right, it is exactly that. I like to spend some time on the weekends perusing other people’s blogs, hopeful that I will be inspired or maybe find a new favorite recipe. I found this one on a blog called Naturally Ella. Maybe you have seen this blog before, it is pretty darn awesome and I’m sure to visit it again. This dish is a low fat mac and cheese that Erin from Naturally Ella created, and it has a nice helping of sweet potato in it. Can you believe that I’ve never cooked with sweet potato before? Well, it’s true, this was a first.

sweetpotato

At a Farmer’s Market this past weekend, I managed to get the last two sweet potatoes at one of the stands. At first I thought, what’s so special about these things? And now I realize, what’s there not to love about sweet potatoes? They are healthy, full of vitamin A, and delicious. And notably, the creamy texture allows you to make a nice puree that you can add to a sauce to make it thick and rich. I made such a sauce here, poured it over a few cups of pasta and spinach, and popped it in the oven to make a healthy and filling dinner!

Thank you Erin for the inspiration. I always love stumbling across a wonderful new recipe, and this is one I will make again. The only thing I would change is this…to find a way to add a punch of flavor to it. I’m not sure how to do that- hot sauce, spices, herbs? I’ll have to tinker with it next time (but not too much, don’t want to ruin a good thing). 

It’s great as it is though, and tastes AWESOME even the next day. I had it for lunch today in the break room and quite a few people were eyeing it and asking me “Ohhh, did you make that?” 

I was able to respond proudly, “Why yes, I certainly did!”

Here is the link to the recipe again: Sweet Potato and Spinach Mac and Cheese.

Trust me, it’s not too complicated to make and well worth the effort! There is even an easy, printable recipe card on her web site. I love the idea of easy read, printable recipes- I’ll have to figure out a way to do that myself!

Cheers,

Nimmie

6 Responses to “Sweet Potato and Spinach Mac and Cheese”

  1. Bashar A. January 9, 2013 at 9:12 am #

    That looks & sounds delicious 🙂

  2. myhealthyohana January 9, 2013 at 5:19 pm #

    I love sweet potatoes! Going to go check out that recipe now 🙂

  3. Mama FlavourFull February 17, 2013 at 10:43 pm #

    I am so trying this.

    • luvnorcal February 18, 2013 at 11:36 am #

      Yes, give it a shot, it’s not a very long project 🙂

      • Mama FlavourFull February 18, 2013 at 11:44 am #

        Thanks for the encouragement and the follow!

      • luvnorcal February 18, 2013 at 11:58 am #

        🙂

Leave a Reply

