Indian-style Mashed Potatoes

25 Dec
mashedpotatoes

Steak and potatoes

Christmas day is coming to an end here in wet, rainy California. The rain stopped for a brief period of time, during which I quickly laced up my running shoes and threw on a jacket, but as soon as I opened the front door, it started again. I grabbed my umbrella and went for a walk anyway. After being cooped up all day inside, I needed some fresh air! Twenty minutes later, I had to admit defeat and make my way home- my shoes were soaked and getting to the point where I could feel the water squishing around in them. (Note to self: need to buy rainboots when they go on sale next year!)

I consider myself the master of killing time (usually accomplished with a lengthy novel or movie) but I felt somewhat exasperated today with the unrelenting rain and inability to spend time outside. And on top of that, today’s a holiday so everything was closed. Sometimes you just want to get out and do something, ya know! Most of Monday was also spent inside (including a long, but pleasant Christmas Eve dinner at a family friend’s house) so that’s why I’m going somewhat stir crazy. 

Ah well, I’m going to work tomorrow so the problem will soon be solved! I know, I’m funny, thinking about work on Christmas day. Just got the rainy blues, I guess (don’t know how people in the East live in this weather for many months out of the year). Anyway, good to get out of the house tomorrow and do some work. For one thing, it keeps me away from noshing. I hovered around the fridge more than I needed to today. Two slices of pumpkin pie were consumed by yours truly today- each with a nice helping of vanilla ice cream. 

Which brings me to the topic of today’s post, mashed potatoes with Indian flair! This side dish turned out really well so I’m excited to share the recipe with you. It’s a little something my mom usually makes, but today I made it by myself. It’s not spicy, but flavorful. There’s some good health value to it also, thanks to the addition of ginger-garlic paste. It’s a nice side dish to enjoy with steak, as we did for dinner tonight.

Indian-style Mashed Potatoes

Ingredients

  • 6 medium-sized red potatoes (or 4 large)
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1/2 large red onion, diced
  • 2 tablespoons ginger-garlic paste (homemade)
  • 4 tablespoons creme fraiche
  • 3 teaspoons coriander cumin powder 
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 2 teaspoons black pepper

Preparation

Very easy! Turn on steam cooker, add potatotes, and set timer for ~25 minutes or until knife slides easily through them. After cooked, peel potatotes and mash in a large bowl. (I like my mashed potatoes to have texture to them so I leave it a bit chunky.)

Melt butter in a large pan/wok over medium-high heat. After pan is well heated, add onions. Stir for ~4 minutes until onions turn clear, or are cooked to your liking- do not brown. Lower heat to medium, add ginger-garlic paste and stir for 5 minutes. Stir frequently to avoid sticking to the bottom of the pan. Add potatoes, creme fraiche, coriander cumin powder, salt, and black pepper. Stir thoroughly and cook for another 5 minutes. Turn off stove, move pan off burner, and let potatoes sit for another 5 minutes. Then, ready to serve!

Pretty basic, right? I like how it’s creamy as well- it was delicious. 

And that’s the end of today’s post, I hope you had a more fun-filled Christmas day than I did. 😉 I was delighted, though, that my parents and little brother enjoyed the presents I gave them this morning. It’s always hard to find something right that says “I cared enough to put some thought into this.” Makes me happy to bring some joy to the ones I love!

Cheers,

Nimmie

3 Responses to “Indian-style Mashed Potatoes”

  1. lovepeacebelle December 25, 2012 at 11:28 pm #

    Oooh! Potatoes look delicious. merry Christmas to you and your family! Glad you were able to spend time outdoors as well — you’re a trooper in this weather!

    • luvnorcal December 27, 2012 at 10:59 am #

      Thanks my dear! Hope you guys have a wonderful New Year!

  2. hazrock December 29, 2012 at 2:52 am #

    Hi Nimmie! I have nominated you for an award. http://hazrock.wordpress.com/2012/12/29/blog-of-the-year-2012/
    Please check it out. Thanks sweetie!

Leave a Reply

