Christmas Sugar Cookies

24 Dec
xmascookies4

Iced with buttercream and whipped cream frosting- yum!

Christmas sugar cookies have been on my to-do list since who knows when, and yesterday, my friend Michelle and I churned out a bunch of these from scratch! It was tons of fun, although we were both scared when the recipe called for 2.5 sticks of butter. I guess it comes with the territory of making traditional, holiday season cookies! The recipe came from Joy of Cooking- one of the best cookbooks out there, honestly.

xmascookies1

Looking at this makes me want to sing my ABCs for some reason, I think it reminds me of these alphabet cookies I used to have as a kid.

Here they are pre-frosting, looking so perfect! I’m glad Michelle was able to find a great cookie cutter set at the last minute. We made the dough, rolled these babies out, and then cut out the shapes with the cookie cutters. The dough remaining after each session of cutting was balled up, rolled out, and placed in the fridge to harden. I think we went through that process quite a few times! In the end, we made a whole lot of cookies.

xmascookies3

The GHOST OF CHRISTMAS PAST!

And this is the “ghost of Christmas past,” which we had a good laugh over. It’s supposed to be an angel, but the white frosting kind of obscures the edges and makes it look ghoulish. 🙂

xmascookies

Cookies, cookies, cookies!

Here’s the entire spread! The recipe made about three dozen cookies. I think about a dozen were lost to random breakage and us eating them. We had such a fun time, and think this is the beginning of a new holiday tradition- cookie baking session!

Tonight is Christmas Eve, and I’m looking forward to a lovely dinner. Wishing you all a Merry Christmas!

6 Responses to “Christmas Sugar Cookies”

  1. hazrock December 24, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

    Merry Christmas Nimmie. Much joy, happiness and love to you and your family. 🙂

    • luvnorcal December 24, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

      Thank you Haz, a very merry christmas to you and your loved ones as well!! 🙂

  2. lovepeacebelle December 25, 2012 at 11:31 pm #

    Thanks for the great baking experience, Nimmie. I tried something new and had fun!

    • luvnorcal December 27, 2012 at 10:58 am #

      I had a lot of fun, Michelle! And you’re better at baking than you thought- rolling out that dough like a pro. 🙂

  3. Bashar A. December 26, 2012 at 11:09 pm #

    Merry Christmas… I can’t look at any more sweets!!! 🙂

    • luvnorcal December 27, 2012 at 10:58 am #

      Haha same here.. there is an apple pie in the fridge, and I have no desire to eat it!

Leave a Reply

