Peanut Butter Cookies

23 Dec
peanutbuttercookies

A hefty plateful, with many more on the side

Peanut butter cookie time! (Yes, I have that “peanut  butter jelly time” song stuck in my head…) 

I absolutely had to make these cookies yesterday, because I had been watching the Food Network for two hours. I looked around the house for some sweet treats, but found nothing. Cookies don’t survive very long in our house (if we even buy them, that is).  So, it was up to me to make up for the dearth of baked goods…

These were good cookies- a little crisp, a little tender, and full of peanut butter flavor. Do you love peanut butter? Then you’re going to love these. The recipe comes from the Joy of Cooking cookbook (I was about to say textbook, because it is quite a large tome!).  Honestly, anything I make out of that cookbook is delicious. Although, I would have preferred these cookies to have a bit more bite to them, so I’ll have to see how to go about tweaking the recipe to do that later.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies- Joy of Cooking

Yield- about 3 dozen, 2 1/2 inch cookies

Position a rack in the upper third of the oven. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease cookie sheets.

Whisk together thoroughly:

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Beat on medium speed until very fluffy and well blended:

  • 1/4 cup corn or canola oil
  • 2/3 cup smooth peanut butter
  • 12 tablespoons (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/3 cup powdered sugar (sifted after measuring if lumpy)
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar

Add and beat until well combined:

  • 1 large egg
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons vanilla

Stir the flour mixture into the peanut butter mixture until well blended and smooth. Let the dough stand for 5 minutes to firm slightly. Pull off pieces of the dough and roll between your palms into generous 1-inch balls; it will be fairly soft. Space about 2 inches apart on the sheets. Using the tines of a fork, form a crosshatch pattern and press each ball into a 1 1/2 inch round.

Bake, 1 sheet at a time, until the cookies are just tinged with brown at the edges, 9 to 12 minutes; rotate the sheet halfway through baking for even browning. Remove the sheet to a rack and let stand until the cookies firm slightly. Transfer the cookies to racks to cool.

Napa Valley 109

Sister and brother in Napa Valley

My little brother Avi helped me bake these. I am somewhat of a control freak in the kitchen (everything has to be perfect!), so I was hesistant to receive a helping hand from him, but it’s good he’s taking an interest so I thought I should do whatever I could to help nurture that. He retrieved ingredients for me from the fridge, and then beat the batter containing the peanut butter. He did a good job actually! The kid follows instruction well. Later, we rolled the dough together and plopped the little balls onto the cookie sheet for baking. The end product: deliciousness!

cookiecloseup

Ready for a close up

So the first cookies of the holiday season have been baked! I look forward to tackling sugar cookies today. 

What are you planning to bake this month?

Leave a Reply

