Run, run, run!

8 Dec
pinklaces

Swapped out boring old laces for hot pink ones!

Today was a good workout day for me. I think I was especially motivated by the bag of goodies I received in the mail from my New York blogger friend, Megan at runlikeagrl. I donated to a brilliant fundraiser she put on to raise money for Staten Island residents who were hit hard by recent the hurricane Sandy- she raised $900! And I was lucky enough to receive a prize in return, what a sweet gesture from Megan. 🙂

Look at all those sports goodies!

prize2

A nice message.

I ate the Power Bar energy blasts immediately- yum! Then I felt like I had to go for a run because all that sugar needed to be put to good use! I laced up my shoes and hit the pavement.

It was nice to wind through the neighborhood streets and see everyone putting up their Christmas lights and decorations, or taking trees off the top of their cars. I live in a very suburban neighborhood, and today was proof of that. Children frolicking, men on ladders hanging up lights, women decorating with their young daughters. I went all the way down this long street, past these beautiful homes tucked away in quiet cul-de-sacs (so breaktakingly gorgeous against the mountains, I need to take photos next time) and the local high school. The road ended with a steep hill, I labored up it and felt really proud by the time I got to the top and touched the streetlamp. Thirty minutes of running. I only timed the running, and stopped my watch every time I took a break and walked. It was really nice to be outside. There’s something refreshing about a slightly chilly December evening in California.

As for food updates, I have been taking it easy with the chowing (I know, what?). My grandparents were here for a couple weeks last month and my grandma made TONS of food. It was really nice to come home from work and smell delicious smells coming from the kitchen. I ate everything, of course, and thoroughly enjoyed it. (I also pitched in every now and then, trying to learn from my grandma. She discovered wild mint growing in our backyard and used it to make a mint and tamarind flavored water for pani puri. See below, pulled from another WordPress blog.)

panipuri

Pani refers to water which is supposed to go into the fried puris and be eaten whole. The water was so good I actually diluted it in a separate glass and drank it by itself!

So, my love for all things Indian has once again been restored. I thought, wow, I am so glad I’m Indian and have access to all this wonderful food. 😉 Then I thought…hey, if I don’t learn to make this stuff myself, I might not be able to enjoy it when I get older! I think I am very close to taking that next step and learning some solid Indian cooking skills. I usually leave that to my parents because they are so good at it, but it’s high time I pick up some stuff myself. I have done enough sous-chef work and observed enough to have an idea of what needs to be done, but actually making a whole dish from start to finish feels daunting. I tried to make a sabzi in college, but the potatoes came out underdone and I didn’t add enough spices. But that was one try, years ago! Gah, I better do it soon! Would make for a good series of blog posts too… you guys could learn some healthy recipes involving vegetables, spices, and lentils. And maybe even some good ol’ butter chicken. 

Anyway, that’s it for tonight my friends. Do share some of your thoughts, I love to hear from you.

Cheers,

Nimmie

15 Responses to “Run, run, run!”

  1. sweatescape December 8, 2012 at 9:19 pm #

    Hi, your pictures and recipe have me drooling all over my keyboard. I wish I had a plate of those nachos in front of me right about now! 🙂

    • luvnorcal December 8, 2012 at 9:23 pm #

      Hahaha, thanks! I do try. 🙂 Indeed, a large plate of nachos and some guac is a good way to enjoy a Saturday night!

  2. Bashar A. December 9, 2012 at 6:27 pm #

    Hurry up and learn so you can share with us 🙂

  3. Ankit December 10, 2012 at 6:30 am #

    Pani Puris are the best in the ‘Indian Street food’ genre.
    What kinda Indian food do you wanna cook?
    🙂

    • luvnorcal December 11, 2012 at 1:34 pm #

      I would like to make some smashing mattar paneer!

      • Ankit December 11, 2012 at 9:08 pm #

        hmm… now that there is one of the simplest recipes ever
        though you will find multiple options online…
        the easiest is a tomato gravy with boiled peas and diced paneer

      • luvnorcal December 11, 2012 at 10:50 pm #

        Well then I simply have to make it! 🙂

      • Ankit December 11, 2012 at 11:15 pm #

        good luck….
        looking forward to read about that
        🙂

  4. kimthedietitian December 12, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    Looks like you’ve been eating some yummy food! I had some Russian food last weekend – my son’s fiance’s Russian mother cooked. It was such a sweet gesture and such good food. Congrats on your running!

    • luvnorcal December 12, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

      Thanks! And Russian food is something I’ve never tried actually. I just remember the scene from the movie Heartbreakers when she pretends to be a Russian lady and accidently orders raw meat.. I’m sure there are much better options!

  5. Megan@ Run Like a Grl December 12, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

    Glad you enjoyed all the goodies lady 🙂 Great job running!!

    • luvnorcal December 12, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

      Thanks, and btw the pink laces were my fav- it’s just something you don’t think to do, change the color of your laces.. but I love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

