Small steps, small changes

7 Nov

The title of this post aside, I think President Obama winning another four years in the White House was a big step for America. Big! I went for a walk tonight with my mom, and we discussed his victory speech and how moving and heartfelt it was. (And how he prepared himself well and had a concession speech ready too, unlike his opponent!) Funny enough, we both noticed the way he embraced his wife and daughters and then looked after them as they walked off the stage, just before he was ready to approach the podium. I think that was a look of about several seconds, and I don’t know what he was thinking, but it was really touching because I could see how much he loved his family. My mom and I both agreed that this is the kind of man we want leading our country.

He definitely cares for America too. That has come across through his actions, particularly during the latest Hurricane Sandy crisis, and through how hard he is fighting to better our healthcare system. Thanks to the Affordable Care Act (ACA), which he largely pioneered, myself and thousands (perhaps hundreds of thousands) of other young people across the country were able to stay on our parent’s medical insurance after graduating college, and can do so until the age of 26. In fact, without the ACA, my friend Janet, who battled acute lymphoblastic leukemia at the tender age of 24, would have not been able to pay her hospital bills. That would have been an unnecessary added stress for her. She passed away recently, on September 12th, and I’m very sad that she didn’t get to see Obama reelected (among other things, of course). I miss that girl. She did good things for America too, just like Barack Obama. I am just so relieved honestly that he was reelected. I was so scared it would be Romney. In this bitter world of politics, I think Obama is about as good an honest man as you can find. 

Wow, okay, that was a longer digression than I intended. I almost forgot what I was going to talk about. Ah, I know.. small steps, small changes. I bring this up because I’m tired of trying to take big steps and make big changes and then poop out before I can follow through with anything. It’s all about the follow-through, my friends!

What’s this? Salad? Yes. Salad. Small salads. Not overwhelmingly salad-y. Easy enough to sneak into every meal. I get it, salads can be tough to swallow. You have to chew, chew, chew, and ingest all this fiber. Compared to melt-in-your-mouth carbs, salads don’t feel that good sometimes. It’s okay, we all feel the same way. But you have to just take the effort to wash some lettuce leaves, chop up some bell pepper, and sprinkle some shredded carrots (which you can buy pre-packaged!) on top. Add a little bit of ranch, and hey, it doesn’t taste so bad!  

Small side salads are part of my “small steps, small changes” program. Haha, I’m just kidding, it’s not a real program. I was just doing some stretches today without the T.V. on, and it got the wheels in my head spinning. I thought about all the little things I do to be more healthy and improve my lifestyle. Take stretching, for example. I sit at a computer all day at work, so by the time I get home, my shoulders are somewhat rounded and my back and legs are tight. I go for a half hour walk and then stretch for a half hour. It makes all the difference, really. Without the back/neck/arm/leg stretches I do, and the various yoga poses, I think I’d just be one ball of knots! No bueno. 

Here are some others little things I do…

  1. Always take the stairs at work. To the third floor. (Sometimes when I see someone get in the elevator at the same time as I step into the stairwell, I run up three levels just to beat them. Lol! I know, I’m silly.)
  2. Drink lots of water. Keeps you hydrated, keeps your skin clear, flushes out toxins.
  3. Eat a donut. Woah, I caught you off guard there! Yep, I walk a couple blocks to this cute little donut place and buy a $0.50 donut hole (gourmet stuff, made fresh every day), probably a couple times a week. Just makes me happy and keeps me away from bigger or less fresh indulgences, like giant cookies or vending machine stuff.
  4. Walk as much as I can, as often as I can. I live about 20 minutes away (by foot) from a BART station (public transit train) and save myself a dollar for parking by walking to it. Sometimes I’m in a rush or running late so I drive, but you know, I do what I can.
  5. Do random yoga poses while watching T.V.
  6. Stand hands-free while on the BART train. This is actually a good core exercise. Ha, I’m serious! It’s hard to stand on a moving train without reaching for something, and you really gotta stand with your legs shoulder-width apart, suck your stomach in, and keep yourself balanced, especially when you are reading at the same time.
  7. Avoid escalators when possible.
  8. Aimlessly wander around in the shopping mall, with no intention of buying anything. It’s fun and it’s exercise!
  9. Wash my car. Good workout, especially for the arms. It’s tiring stuff, but I love seeing that squeaky clean car afterwards!
  10. Brown bag my lunches. Well actually, I use a reusable lunch bag, but the phrase “brown bagging it” comes to mind. 

My favorite donut policemen from Wreck-It Ralph, a must see movie!

So there you have it, just wanted to pen down (or type out) some thoughts and share some ideas. I would love to hear what you thought of the election and about the little steps that you take to improve your health!

Cheers,

Nimmie

2 Responses to “Small steps, small changes”

  1. Bashar A. November 8, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

    Great tips… I would also add, do one change at a time… don’t do it all at once so you don’t feel like the “old ways” are dead. This did wonders for me 🙂

    • luvnorcal November 8, 2012 at 5:57 pm #

      Haha the “old ways” what are those? The college ways? Swinging by in n out for dinner? 🙂 That last one is something I did often, cause I couldn’t cook anything. Well, we’ve fixed that now, but I still enjoy a good burger once in a while.

Leave a Reply

