Easy to eat a bowl of ice cream, but running…

26 Oct

Running really, really hurt today. I ran only 20 minutes around the neighborhood but it felt like an hour! Why, why??? Just the day before yesterday, I ran for about a half hour and it didn’t feel so bad as today. I guess this is what happens when you try to exercise on a regular basis after having not moved much for 3 weeks!

That is me up there, post run. A pursed smile that says “Yes, I tried, reluctantly.”  See that number to my left? That was for a 5K back in May. I finished at 30:12. I was actually really excited about running back then. I researched a bunch of 5Ks, but I never ended up training for or signing up for any of them. What a shame! I should look up a run and sign up, maybe that will provide some daily motivation.

Anyway, I guess all I came here to say is that eating a bowl of ice cream is SO EASY but trying to burn it off is just an insane amount of effort. Who knows, maybe all I burned off is just the chocolate syrup. Bah!

I had just wanted to take a nap today but instead I forced myself to run. I guess I can be proud of that. Also, no more ice cream. It just ain’t worth the effort I have to expend!

Cheers,

Nimmie

8 Responses to “Easy to eat a bowl of ice cream, but running…”

  1. myhealthyohana October 26, 2012 at 5:06 pm #

    Keep it up!! I think it’s the starting up again that is really hard, but if you can get past the first couple of weeks, then it gets easier 🙂 I’m starting to train for a 5K myself…it’s been harder than I thought, but it’s good to have a goal!

    • luvnorcal October 26, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

      Thank you Maura! I will do my best. Nothing beats the feeling of flying through a 5K! Looking forward to it if I can make it there, and good luck to you too 🙂

  2. rachel October 26, 2012 at 6:00 pm #

    What she said ^ keep it up! It’s harder at first, but you’ll feel great, just take it one run at a time. And give yourself credit… you ran when you really didn’t feel like it!

    • luvnorcal October 26, 2012 at 10:30 pm #

      Hey thanks Rachel! Yep, one run at a time, just gotta keep doing it!!

  3. Bashar A. October 27, 2012 at 9:13 am #

    Getting out and doing 15 minutes is better than doing nothing… Rome wasn’t built overnight 🙂

  4. kimthedietitian November 29, 2012 at 7:11 pm #

    Ah yes, it truly is quite a bit easier to eat calories than to burn them!

Leave a Reply

