Cold Asian Noodle Salad, revisited

23 Oct

I cooked tonight! Woo hoo! I was forced into it actually. There’s been some talk around the house that I’m better at eating than at cooking. (This is true for the most part. My parents are amazing cooks, I can’t help it!) So now I’ve been allotted 2 days of the week to prepare meals of my own for the family. That’s perfectly fair, and it will give me some material for my blog posts too. And hey, maybe I’ll whip up a new favorite someday! Today, I made an old favorite: Cold Asian Noodle Salad. There’s a link to it in my sidebar of Featured Posts as well. Can’t believe that it’s been months since I made this! It’s so delicious and easy to prepare!



The recipe can be found by clicking the link above. I actually had one blogger test this out and tell me…

I’m in love! This has ultimately satisfied my pasta / Asian cuisine / Raw Vegan fetish!!!
More importantly it’s minimal cooking (Because there’s too little time in life).
KUDOS my dear and Thank you
^_^

She was the first person to try out one of my recipes, and I was so happy about it! You know people always say “I need to make that!” but most of them don’t get around to it (including me) so when someone actually does, I am totally psyched! Hint hint. 🙂

Back to this dish, the best thing about it is that it soaks up a lot of veggies. You can add anything you want really, or remove anything you don’t like. I throw in the whole heap, and then top if off with a sprinkle of sesame seeds and a handful of peanuts.

Just consider it to be a few simple steps…

1. Boil soba noodles for 5 minutes, rinse in cold water and set aside.

2. Chop up all veggies and throw into large bowl.

3. Prepare sauce (mixture of a ton of stuff, see the recipe)

4. Toss everything together.

And bam, you have a healthy, satisfying dinner! It’s best eaten immediately after prepared, the veggies tend to get soggy if you store the whole thing overnight. If you want to prepare it in advance, just separate all ingredients as shown above and refrigerate them until you are ready to eat. The noodles might get stuck together, but there’s enough oil in the sauce that once you pour it over, the noodles will separate nicely. Don’t let the oils in the sauce deter you, it’s not that much and honestly, you probably consume more oil than what is in this whole dish by eating a couple slices of pizza outside. Oops, I’m getting preachy again. Stop! Okay, stopping. I hope you get a chance to enjoy this dish! Let me know how it goes. 🙂

Cheers,

NS

(Another shot below, the colors are too warm but it’s a good close up!)

4 Responses to “Cold Asian Noodle Salad, revisited”

  1. Bashar A. October 24, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

    I gotta give this a try… I need more quick meals like that 🙂

    • luvnorcal October 24, 2012 at 5:32 pm #

      Yeah, I make it when I don’t feel like hovering over a stovetop. Preparing the veggies is the time consuming part, but not so bad compared to other things 🙂

  2. expatchef October 27, 2012 at 3:32 am #

    Definitely want to give this a try, I am starving just looking at it!

    • luvnorcal October 27, 2012 at 8:37 am #

      Thanks, definitely do so! 🙂

Leave a Reply

