Foodie thoughts

20 Oct

It’s Friday night and I’m listening to Keane and blogging, perfect! Any other Keane fans out there? I just read about them on wikipedia and learned that they are unique in that they use a piano (or synth) as a lead instrument instead of a guitar, with lots of interesting distortions and mixing. Also love the lyrics…

Where will I meet my fate?
Baby I’m a man, I was born to hate
And when will I meet my end?
In a better time you could be my friend

Moving on, I feel kind of bad for eating McDonalds tonight, especially after preaching the importance of eating at home or eating high quality food outside. Haha, what can I say, I can’t resist the McDees sometimes. I have to have it every couple of months, and I always order the same thing: 1 McChicken, 1 small fries, and 1 apple pie. My boss admits that their food does smell good but when asked if she would ever eat it, she says “Oh, but I would never put it in my body!!” She makes it sound so horrible. Probably cause it is horrible. Meat that came from a chicken (or several chickens) that was probably pumped with hormones and caged with a dozen other chickens. Maybe the chicken got so fat that it couldn’t even walk (I have seen this in a documentary). Actually, the patty is probably not all chicken, I’m sure it has a good percentage of corn in it. That’s right, corn. Cheap corn. And that golden bun? It must have been in a freezer for at least a month. Fries? Oil and no nutritional value. Apple pie? High fructose corn syrup. Is this making me feel any better? No. I guess I know all this but I choose to eat the food anyway. Not all the time, but at least a few times a year. I was planning to make my green macaroni tonight, but I only had the broccoli and no macaroni. So there we go, a whole paragraph about me eating McDonalds, knowing it’s bad for me, and then justifying it as a “sometimes thing” and a last resort when no other meal options are available late at night (for less than $5).  Sigh.

In other interesting news, earlier today at a special work lunch, I listened to Dr. Sheri Pruitt talk about her SMART strategy for healthy living. (Ah, actually I think this is what drove me to the McDonalds. I think I subconsciously wanted a “last hurrah” before starting my healthy eating plan. Funny, I go to a health talk and end up eating junk food that same night.) Yes, so this woman is a clinical psychologist and wrote a book called “Living SMART: Five Essential Skills to Change Your Health Habits Forever.” Her talk today was about how to make changes that stick, utilizing the science of human behavior. I’ll just sum up the main points for you. You pretty much have to take it a couple weeks at a time and not overdo it. When you are introducing a new positive health change into your life, use baby steps. You have to decide on a plan of action, be motivated, and stick to it, writing it down helps a lot. And then, make sure your environment is arranged to help you succeed (lay out your gym clothes the night before so you just grab and go in the morning, keep a pair of sneakers at work if you decide on a brisk walk around the lake, inspirational photos, whatever). The “R” stands for recruit a friend, someone to turn to for help, support, and motivation. And finally, “T” stands for treat yourself when you accomplish your goal.

This woman is insane. I say that in a good way, because she wakes up at 4:20am every day to go to the gym. Seriously! I believe her too, she is a busy working woman but in really good shape. I have definitely not been sticking to my gym routine at all. I am still getting used to this work schedule. I just need to get my butt out of bed at 6am and go to the gym before I get ready for work! God how hard is that? I think about it the night before, and it sounds feasible enough, but when morning comes and my alarm rings, all of a sudden all the motivation has left me. The bed is so nice and warm, I just feel like snuggling up to my comforter and never leaving. I eventually have to haul myself out of bed to get ready for work, but it seems like it would take a mental forklift to get myself up and ready at 6am. What to do, what to do… Decisions, decisions.. I have gained some weight, definitely, from these recent slacker habits.

Maybe I just need to abide by Dr. Pruitt’s advice and set some achievable, short term goals for myself. Write them down, post them around my room, and have no ifs, ands, or buts about it. I think I waste a lot of energy just vacillating back and forth.. I should go, but I can’t go, but you should, but I’m tired, but come on do it, no no it’s too early… What a waste of time and energy, no wonder I can’t make it happen. I just need to be my own drill sergeant and be like HEY, GET YOUR ASS OUT OF BED NOW.

Hahaha, I think it just might work if I picture this guy in my head and say those exact words! I might bust out laughing but that’s better than falling back to sleep. Let’s see if it works tomorrow morning.

Anyway, I’ll end with a photo of the burnt muffins I made today. So I guess today’s post was about the fact that even people with the best intentions (i.e. me) can screw up and eat McDonalds, abandon their exercise plans, and burn the occasional batch of muffins. Good night to all!

4 Responses to “Foodie thoughts”

  1. hazrock October 20, 2012 at 3:30 am #

    Ahh! Keane. Good music. I saw a vid of them remaking that 90s song Disco 2000 by Pulp. As good as the original! That is just one of those millennium songs, like Prince’s 1999, which when we first listen to it we were thinking, really? Year 2000? That’s like too far into the future. And here we are now in 2012. 🙂

    • luvnorcal October 23, 2012 at 10:32 pm #

      Haha, seriously! I remember that old Will Smith song about the millenium. Bah, how the days pass!

  2. myhealthyohana October 20, 2012 at 4:48 pm #

    I’m trying to set small achievable exercise goals now that I’m ready to get back to running after baby :). It really helps to have someone doing it with you! Either that or great music to keep you motivated 🙂

    • luvnorcal October 23, 2012 at 10:34 pm #

      It’s all the more admirable that you’re trying to stay on the right track with a family to take care of! I’m sure you’ll get back in the groove in no time. As for me, I have yet to get my lazy butt up in the morning. Hopefully that will change, I’m summoning all my motivation!!

Leave a Reply

