Lemon Yogurt Cake with Fruit Jam Sauce

18 Aug

Hello world, yes it is me, I am back! I am making food again, after a long hiatus. I think I’ll have to visit each of your blogs to remind you that I’m still here, as it has been quite a while since I posted an actual recipe. Enough of these random photo posts, time to get cooking and baking again!

Do I have excuses for not updating my blog? Yes. Is it worth sharing? Not really, we all lead busy lives and this is just another example of how you neglect the fun, but enriching, areas of your life to tend to other things on the never-ending to-list of life… Wow, that was quite eloquent huh? 😉

Trusty recipe card!

Luckily, I don’t have to write out the recipe, because I have a nifty recipe card (above, click to enlarge) that you can reference! I have held on to this card for about 4 years now. FOUR YEARS. This little pink card has been in my life for that long, which is quite impressive considering how many times I’ve moved since then. Guess it must have meant a lot to me… and it does, because it’s one of the recipes I made in university for my cooking club. We held cooking classes in fully-equipped kitchens within the international student building (which is really swanky, because those international kids bring the big bucks with them, paying the full price tuition unlike us state kids). The dorm kids loved these classes cause they could eat actual REAL food and not that junk dorm food. We held a really nice Italian themed class once, I have saved those recipes too, so stay tuned… 

Anyway, I’m so glad I still have this recipe because it is YUMMY and low fat. Two tablespoons of oil in the whole loaf! The moistness comes from yogurt and applesauce, which are excellent substitutes for full fat ingredients like oil and butter. I guess the 1 cup of sugar is not exactly healthy, but you can cut that back to 2/3 and it will still be okay.

Topped with fruit jam sauce, this is an absolutely delicious creation! And did I mention that it’s really easy to make? Yep, this recipe’s a keeper. 

Combine the dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, salt).

Combine the yogurt, eggs, sugar, vanilla extract, and lemon zest (I only had limes though). Eggs off to the side here as I was whisking them separately before adding to the rest of the wet mixture.

Add dry ingredients to wet and whisk together. Holding up applesauce here for the next step…

Fold in applesauce and oil.

Pour into greased (or Pam sprayed) loaf pan and bake at 350 degrees for 50 minutes.

Ta-da! Out it comes, looking marvelous! Jam sauce on the side.

Ate every last crumb 🙂

This is a hazy shot, but I just want you to see the texture- so moist and yet light and crumbly at the same time. Hope you have time (and inclination) to try it out someday. 🙂

5 Responses to “Lemon Yogurt Cake with Fruit Jam Sauce”

  1. myhealthyohana August 18, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

    Looks delicious! I love using yogurt or applesauce in place of oil/butter, at least when it doesn’t affect the taste too much 🙂 Will have to give this one a try!

    • luvnorcal August 18, 2012 at 8:33 pm #

      Thank you, I hope you do give it a try! The taste is not affected at all- in fact, the applesauce enhances the taste and the smell coming from the oven is just heavenly. 🙂 The yogurt gives it a nice creamy tenderness.

  2. kimthedietitian August 19, 2012 at 8:15 am #

    Mmm. I am getting hungry looking at it – love the texture!

  3. shellywest September 24, 2012 at 9:48 am #

    Oh man! Look’s so delicious!

Leave a Reply

