Low Calorie Chocolate Chip Muffins

29 Jun

Muffins as far as the eye can see

I’m having a super splendid Friday evening. It’s 7’o’clock in California and the sun is still shining. The patio door is open and there’s a light breeze moving into my slightly overheated house. I can see our neighbor’s apple tree and I’m hoping they reach full growth soon so I can snag a couple (shhhh).  I have the Across the Universe soundtrack playing in the background while browsing the Internet, and the smell of chocolate chip muffins is in the air. Just what I like, a combination of music, technology, and of course, food!

So let’s talk muffins now. This is an amazingly good recipe that I found here. Low calorie and low fat, but yet the muffin is still delicious with lots of air bubbles, making it light and fluffy. So click here for the full recipe! I know I gave you the link twice, but that’s because I’m eager for you to try it out! Note of caution: don’t use muffin liners as I did in the photo above. Since the muffins are low fat, there’s not enough oil in them and they stick to the liners. Instead, spray the pan as she suggested- I just wanted to use pretty liners.

A very versatile muffin recipe, I imagine you can add anything you want to the batter in place of the chocolate chips. I will definitely be giving it a go again!

A delicious on-the-go snack

I also made these simple wraps earlier. My little brother loves the ones at Costco, so I thought I’d make our own healthy version at home. I use whole-wheat tortillas instead of white, fresh turkey breast instead of that weird stuff they use (yes being judgmental here), fresh lettuce, and creamy havarti cheese.  Mmmmm… All you have to do is spread a thin layer of mayo on the torilla, add your toppings, and roll it up! Easy peasy- no reason why you can’t eat healthy even when on the go!

So there you have it, two very versatile recipes that leave lots of room for creativity. I will be experimenting with them further, and I hope you do as well. Let me know how your versions turn out!

Have a terrific weekend everyone 🙂

5 Responses to “Low Calorie Chocolate Chip Muffins”

  1. hazrock June 29, 2012 at 7:26 pm #

    The muffins look adorable! And as for the wraps, I have not heard of harvati cheese. Ohhh I have to find it here! 🙂

    • luvnorcal June 29, 2012 at 7:30 pm #

      Thanks! Havarti cheese is amazingly creamy and therefore high in fat, but it’s a treat that I like to enjoy in moderation. I hope you can find it there. I am in the land of cows so we have tons of cheeses here!

      • hazrock June 29, 2012 at 7:38 pm #

        Mooooooo! Heheheh. I think I can find it at one of those gourmet supermarkets.

  2. Megan@ Run Like a Grl June 29, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

    Those muffins look so good .. I’m a sucker for them!

    • luvnorcal June 29, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

      Oh yeah, same here! I saved my self at least 200 calories with eating a couple of these muffins instead of the ones at the bakery. Woot woot.

Leave a Reply

