Carrot-Pineapple Muffins

8 Jun

Stack of healthy goodness!

 I feel like my blog is coming full circle, because this is the first recipe I ever posted on WordPress (not to mention it’s one of my absolute favorites)! I make these muffins all the time and they always hit the spot, must be the fiber from the carrots. The best thing about them is that they are low-fat, have an amazing texture, and are not too sweet. I found this recipe in my mom’s Jenny Craig cookbook from the 90s. I can’t believe that there is now more than a full decade between us and the 90s!! I loved growing up in that decade.. It was a better economic time for the world, people were happy and thriving, and I feel there was less of an emphasis on accumulating stuff like new technology, high-end designer labels, and what not. Anyone feel the same way? I think of it as simpler times, but maybe that was just because I was a kid and saw the world in a different way.

Anyway, back to the muffins. I must admit that I have learned to make these better over time. As you can tell by comparing the ones in this photo to the ones in the previous post, these have a much better texture and also didn’t crack on the top. I followed the same recipe here, but I made 2 key changes to my technique that made all the difference. Forgive my sermonizing, but following these two tips below will really help:

1. Lightly spoon the flour into the measuring cups, and then gently level off with a knife, instead of dipping the cups in the bag and scooping up the flour. This ensures that you don’t pack your cups tight with flour and accidently add too much into your recipe.

2. When mixing the wet and dry ingredients together, only mix until the ingredients are just combined and do not overdo it with vigorous mixing. It helps to make a well in the dry ingredients and then pour the wet into the middle. Mix with a few swift strokes until the last bit of flour disappears and then you’re done.

Carrot and Pineapple Muffins (from Jenny Craig)

  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 (8-ounce) can crushed pineapple in juice, undrained
  • 1 cup shredded carrot (or ~2 medium carrots)
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 3 tablespoons milk
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • Pam baking spray

1. Combine first 5 ingredients in a medium bowl; make a well in center of mixture.

2. Combine pineapple, carrot, oil, milk, and egg; add to dry ingredients, stirring just until dry ingredients are moistened.

3. Spoon batter into muffin pans coated with cooking spray, filling two-thirds full. Bake at 400 degrees for 20-25 minutes or until golden. Remove from pan immediately.

Yield: 14 muffins (127 calories each)

Bite-sized perfection

Yummy!

4 Responses to “Carrot-Pineapple Muffins”

  1. kimthedietitian January 11, 2013 at 6:31 am #

    Thanks for the link to my chocolate cupcakes – you will not be sorry you tried them. In fact, I’m going to make a batch today to take to my Saturday morning group (in celebration of a participant’s birthday). I’m going to reblog yours as well – they sound tasty.

    Best of luck to you with your medical school applications. That’s a huge life event!!

    • luvnorcal January 11, 2013 at 10:32 pm #

      Indeed, I wasn’t sorry at all- very happy, in fact!

      And thanks! 🙂

  2. kimthedietitian January 11, 2013 at 6:32 am #

    Reblogged this on Kim the Dietitian’s Weblog and commented:
    These muffins sound delicious. I think I’ll try them this weekend.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What are you baking this weekend? « Living for the next meal - January 10, 2013

    […] to be recognized and celebrated. I’m going to make her a batch of the muffins picture above: Carrot-Pineapple Muffins. I also want to make some of these Double-Chocolate Cupcakes from Kim’s blog- I have […]

Leave a Reply

