Chewy Chocolate Walnut and M&Ms Oatmeal Cookies

21 Apr
 
 Ah what a day- 90 degrees in the East Bay! Puzzingly hot, because just a few days ago I remember shivering in the cold during this same time in the afternoon. Is it just me or is the weather becoming increasingly bizarre? It’s raining cats and dogs one week, and the next it is sweltering. Global warming side effects? 😦
 
Today was definitely NOT an ideal day for baking cookies. I had to turn my A/C on just to be able to walk around the house comfortably. Insane! But on Fridays I like to make some treats to munch on.

 
I had planned to bake these cookies I saw being made on The Chew. Does anyone watch that show? I find it really entertaining- Clinton Kelly is hilarious! The cookies were Cherry Walnut Oatmeal, and I actually had some dried cherries from the Farmers Market, but unfortunately they were organic and had been sitting in my cupboard for more than a month. Yep, they were almost rancid. It sucked. So I had to go back to the drawing board and figure out what other ingredient to throw in. I didn’t have any chocolate chips, but I did have a bar of semisweet baking chocolate. So I rolled with it, and haphazardly cut up small chunks of it to throw into the batter with the chopped walnuts. Still, that wasn’t enough for me. I had to top the cookies with m&m’s to really achieve the perfect cookie! 🙂 
 
Using 2 sticks of butter in a recipe is usually not my thing, but I followed a recipe from The Chew as well as a  Martha Stewart recipe that I found online. The recipe I give you below is a combination of the two. I’ll have to investigate ways to make the perfect cookie without using a lot of butter. I haven’t experimented enough with cookie recipes to be able to tweak them all that much. Perhaps I could substitute some of the butter for apple sauce? I remember doing that for a cake recipe. Or I could use the apple butter that was suggested in the Martha Stewart recipe- has anyone ever used it?
 
Anyway, in the end, a homemade cookie beats a store-bought cookie any day!
 
Chewy Chocolate Walnut and M&Ms Oatmeal Cookies
 
Ingredients
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups Quaker Old-Fashioned Rolled Oats- GROUND TO FLOUR LIKE CONSISTENCY USING FOOD PROCESSOR (less oat-y tasting that way and blends better into the batter)
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts
  • Couple handfuls chopped chocolate or chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. Take Quaker oats and pulse in food processor until it reaches a flour-like consistency.
  3. In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, cinnamon, baking soda, nutmeg, and salt; set aside.
  4. Place butter and sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment; beat on medium-high speed until light and fluffy, about 4 minutes.
  5.  Add the eggs and vanilla, and beat to combine. With the mixer on low, gradually add flour mixture from step 3 and beat until incorporated.
  6. Next, add in ground oat flour from step 2 and beat until incorporated.
  7. Take off paddle attachment, set bowl with batter on counter.
  8. Add chopped chocolate and walnuts and mix well with spatula.
  9. Drop 1 tablespoon of dough at a time about 2 inches apart on prepared baking sheets.
  10. Top with as many M&Ms as desired. Press each M&M in gently.
  11. Place baking sheet in preheated oven.
  12. Bake until lightly golden brown, 10 to 12 minutes.
  13. Let cool on sheets for 5 minutes, then transfer cookies to a wire rack to cool completely. 
  14. Munch and enjoy! 

 I’ve highlighted some of the steps below, using a nifty collage maker!

Step 2- pulse oats in food processor to a flour consistency

Step 4- Beat butter and sugar until light and fluffy

Chopped chocolate and walnuts

 
6 Responses to “Chewy Chocolate Walnut and M&Ms Oatmeal Cookies”

  1. zosanalma April 23, 2012 at 5:19 am #

    That looks sooooooooooooooo good. . .

  2. Desi Chick April 25, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

    I love a good oatmeal cookie the M&M’s are like an awesome bonus!

    • luvnorcal April 26, 2012 at 12:04 am #

      Oh yeah, the M&Ms really do the trick!

  3. hazrock May 15, 2012 at 5:20 am #

    I think I’m in love with these! And I haven’t even made them yet. Lol!

    • luvnorcal May 15, 2012 at 5:25 am #

      Thanks! 🙂 only thing i would change is to add less butter because they were on the too soft side and i like my cookies to have a nice bite to them.

Leave a Reply

