Carrot and Pineapple Muffins- Delicious, low-fat goodness!

13 Mar
 
Carrot and Pineapple Muffins
 
Prep time: 15 minutes
Cook time: 20 minutes
 
Ingredients:
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon allspice
1/3 cup sugar
1 (8-ounce) can crushed pinapple in juice, undrained
1 cup shredded carrot
1/4 cup vegetable oil
3 tablespoons skim milk
1 egg, lightly beaton
Vegetable cooking spray
 
Step-by-step recipe below.

Today is my day off, and it’s raining and generally miserable outside, so I thought this would be the perfect time to bust out the baking gear! These muffins are one of my staple, go-to recipes because they are so easy to make, taste delicious, and are low-fat. This recipe is from a Jenny Craig cookbook that my mom bought during the time that she used to work for them. I can’t remember her ever making them for me…maybe once…she was on a health kick for most of my childhood, so I have horrible memories of having flaxseed oil spoons shoved in my face and not much else. 😉 I kid- she fed me a lot of good stuff too, although I don’t remember much of it because I wasn’t into eating back then. I know, can you imagine?? I didn’t even like Jello or Animal Crackers. I have a vivid memory of sitting at my kitchen table, watching my next door neighbor eat all my junk food in front of me and not caring at all.

As I grew older, though, I learned to appreciate food in all its forms and found that my mom is quite the cook! I could live off her food forever and most of what I have learned about cooking is from her. Baking, however, is a different matter since she has never taken a shine to it. I love sweet things so I learned how to bake on my own. It’s really not difficult once you get started and it is SO, SO much healthier than picking up a cookie or muffin from an outside shop. Those folks have no qualms when it comes to adding extra butter and sugar; god knows how many calories are in that chocolate-chip cookie from your favorite bakery! Once you start baking in your own kitchen and seeing how much of this and that goes into each recipe, you will shy away from making baked goods the traditional way and will try to adapt to healthier recipes. Don’t get me wrong, I still love the fatty stuff, but I just don’t rely on it for all my cravings. Which brings us to today’s recipe- this is perfect for anyone who is health-conscious but still appreciates a good muffin!

 

These are all your dry ingredients: flour, sugar, baking soda (bought in bulk and stored in the apple sauce jar), ground cinnamon, salt.
 
You will also need some measuring cups and spoons.
                                          
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
These are your wet ingredients: canola oil, crushed pinapple, carrots, egg, cooking spray. Milk is not shown but you will need three tablespoons of it.
 
Some more tools of the trade are shown. Your whisk is your best friend for many recipes! 
 
And in the background you see the dull glint of a muffin pan, so make sure you have one of those handy.
                                     
Before you begin, preheat your oven to 400 degrees.  
 
Now, measure the first 6 ingredients in a medium bowl as shown. Combine with a whisk. Next, make a well in the center in preparation for adding the wet ingredients.
 
 
 
 
 
 
Shred some carrots until you can fill 1 cup. Two is usually sufficient for me, but it depends on the size.
 
I usually pack the cup full because I love carrots, but the ones I am using today have been sitting in the fridge for weeks so I am not too keen on using more than I need to!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 Combine pineapple, carrot, oil, milk, and egg. 
 
I have shown the ingredients prior to being mixed, so make sure you combine them well! Not too vigorously, just until it has an even consistency.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 Add the previous mixture into the well you created in the dry mixture.
 
Stir the batter with a spatula until you can’t see the flour.  This takes a bit of muscle because the batter is thick. Don’t overdo it.
 
 
 
 
 
 Your batter should look somewhat like this.
 
We are making healthy muffins that don’t have a lot of butter or sugar, so this isn’t the type of batter you can enjoy eating raw!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Coat the muffin pan with cooking spray.
 
Use your Pam and use it well!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 Spoon the batter into the pan and fill until about two-thirds full. They will rise a lot so you don’t want to overfill it.
 
Pop those babies into the oven!
 
Bake at 400 degrees for 20-25 minutes or until golden.
 
Remove from pan immediately after you take them out of the oven and let them cool on a wire rack or plate.
 
 
 Pro trip: You can use a broken spaghetti noodle to check if the muffins are done. I do this often because I don’t have toothpicks lying around. Just stick the noodle in and if it comes out clean, the muffins are done. I usually let the muffins cook just a few minutes longer so they are nice and browned. It takes about 20 minutes with my oven, but it can vary. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 Sweet, sweet success!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
And finally my favorite step of all…
 
 
 Yeeeeeeaaaaahhhh!
 

These tasty tidbits ring in at about 130 calories each. Not bad, not bad at all!

They will keep at room temperature for about 2 days (after that they start tasting funny). Unfortunately, they do taste best when they are fresh out of the oven. However, you can reheat as follows: wrap them loosely in foil and heat at 350 degrees for 8-10  minutes OR wrap in a paper towel and microwave at high for 15-30 seconds per muffin.

Bon appetit! 🙂

One Response to “Carrot and Pineapple Muffins- Delicious, low-fat goodness!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Carrot-Pineapple Muffins- the good ‘ol stand-by « Living for the next meal - June 8, 2012

    […] these better over time. As you can tell by comparing the ones in this photo to the ones in the previous post, these have a much better texture and also didn’t crack on the top. I followed the same […]

Leave a Reply

