M&M cookies and chocolate cake- the stuff of dreams

14 Sep

Why hello there!! I did not in fact fall off the face of the earth. I have just been busy with medical school. It’s kind of life consuming. I just finished my first set of block exams for my first semester. (Block exams are like finals. We have them 3 times a semester. Yep…) I have only been in school for 6 weeks and yet it feels like it’s been a lifetime. Last night I slept for 12 hours, to make up for my sporadic sleep schedule during the past week or so. The latest I stayed up to study for a test was 4am. I couldn’t help it, there was just so much to learn! I had 4 major exams and thank god I passed all of them (and passed them well) and was able to enjoy my weekend. All I have been doing is sleeping, eating, and watching TV. Oh, and baking, of course! I wanted to whip up some cookies for my wonderful study partner who helped me survive the torment of 10 hour study days. 

m&m cookies

These cookies are amazing. Perhaps the best I have made yet. And very, very easy to prepare. I found the recipe here. The secret ingredient is Jello vanilla pudding mix. Who would’ve thought! It really improves the texture and makes them melt-in-your-mouth yummy. I also liked the use of mini M&Ms and mini chocolate chips, they mix into the batter better than the normal-sized ones.

texassheetcake

I also made a chocolate cake (called Texas Sheet cake) from a recipe in Joy of Cooking (below). AMAZING, AMAZING chocolate cake. Not too fudgy, more like a cocoa flavored cake. Makes sense since the only chocolate ingredient I used was cocoa powder. :) Very moist, very delicious.

texassheetcakerecipe

Neither of these recipes are low fat or low sugar. They are kind of fatty, but not overly sweet. Sometimes, you just have to treat yourself (and your friends)! It beats going to the bakery. At least I know what I put in my sweets! Fresh ingredients, and some of them are organic too. Makes me feel good.

Back to the daily grind on Monday, but for now I am going to savor these sweet moments (haha, I am so funny, and corny) and kick back and relax. Hope you all have a lovely weekend!!

4 Responses to “M&M cookies and chocolate cake- the stuff of dreams”

  1. hazrock September 15, 2013 at 1:49 am #

    Hi Nimmie! Haven’t you around here for a while. Yikes. I remember mugging for engineering exams till the wee small hours. Coffee or Red Bull were my constant companions. All the best to you!! :-)
    Btw, I have a new craft blog, about origami models I’ve tried folding. Please check it out. Thanks!!

    http://hazfolds.wordpress.com/

    • luvnorcal September 20, 2013 at 10:24 pm #

      Thanks Haz!! :) The student phase is always a treat huh.. I am enjoying it though!

      Your new blog is very creative, nice to see you developing your talents! :)

  2. thestillpoint September 20, 2013 at 2:10 pm #

    ADORABLE. loved the cookies, too :)

    • luvnorcal September 20, 2013 at 10:22 pm #

      Glad you liked them :)

      And hey look at you with your book review blog, quite the reader!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

