Recipes, cookbooks, and future directions

24 Mar
Above is a tray of Cold Asian Noodle Salad that I made for the cookbook release/tasting party at my mom’s hospital. In addition to this one, I also had recipes for Chicken Enchiladas and Chickpea and Potato Curry printed in this employee cookbook. All the recipes are signed off with my name and “Daughter of Navneet, Pharmacy”. My mom chuckled at that, but she deserves credit too! :) Also, I’m not an employee of their hospital so some explanation of my presence in the cookbook is required. They are selling copies of this to raise money for the March of Dimes foundation (this explains the baby on the cover). I am pretty excited that I officially am a published author! Haha…baby steps. Get it, baby steps?? Baby on cover? You get it.

I’m looking forward to trying out some of these recipes, particularly the “Eggs Mimosa,” which I tasted at the party and thought was delicious! Seeing all these recipes made me think about how food plays such a large role in our lives. It’s in the form of traditions passed down from family members, memories that make us smile, and personal creations that we are proud of. Essentially, food is love! 
I haven’t posted any recipes in a while, I admit. I have been cooking and baking, but it’s all things I’ve blogged about before. My “staple” items like banana bread, muffins, and stir fry. Also stuff like tuna sandwiches, egg burritos, and quesadillas- these are pretty simple to make, so much so that I wonder if it’s even worth writing about. Maybe I could do a “Healthy meals/snacks in a hurry” post about these simple, quick to prepare items. I am sure I will be needing some reference for these when I start school in August.
This brings me to my last note about future directions of this blog. I want to keep it as a place for my recipes and cooking experiences, but I also want to start talking about my experiences at school and all the new things I’ll be learning. I might just have to create a separate blog for that. I don’t think I can group all this information under “Living for the next meal”. It’s hard to maintain one blog, let alone two, so I’m wondering if the creation of a new blog will mean the neglect of the other. Anyway, we shall see what happens.
7 Responses to “Recipes, cookbooks, and future directions”

  1. mochabeanie March 24, 2013 at 3:27 pm #

    never knew u r such a great chef!! it looks fantastic!

    • luvnorcal March 24, 2013 at 8:06 pm #

      Thanks Aida! I learned this one (noodle salad) at UCLA actually :)

  2. myhealthyohana March 24, 2013 at 5:08 pm #

    Wow, all sounds so yummy! Good luck to you as you decide what’s best for your blog…I’d be happy to read about your experiences and get your recipes in one blog :)

    • luvnorcal March 24, 2013 at 8:08 pm #

      Thanks! Yeah I think one blog would be nice, but I’ve named this one after food and all the tabs are about food, haha. I don’t know how to go about consolidating everything.

  3. Bashar A. March 27, 2013 at 9:52 am #

    That really does look delicious :)

    • luvnorcal March 27, 2013 at 4:03 pm #

      Thanks, you’re too kind! :)

  4. kimthedietitian April 18, 2013 at 5:34 am #

    Nice! Such a cute cover.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

