Dinner for 12 strangers

25 Feb

ucladinner

I went to a UCLA alumni event last night called Dinner for 12 strangers. (I’m the third person from the right.) I finally did it, woo hoo! I have been wanting to go to one of these dinners since I was an undergraduate student. But, I didn’t have a car at the time and it was hard to figure out how to get to someone’s house clear on the other side of Los Angeles. Okay, maybe the larger reason was that large social gatherings with complete strangers are not on my list of favorite things in life. At this dinner, though, I happened to know the host and I brought a friend along with me. I think the experience would have been just as enjoyable either way, but it’s hard to take that first step and try something new on your own. Lesson learned here is that sometimes you just have to get out there and who knows, you could have a great time when you least expect it! 

We ate lots of good food, prepared by Peggy and her sister Patty, chatted and conversed about anything and everything, and played two rounds of Mafia before having to call it a night because us busy Bay Area Bruins had to get to work/class in the morning. I found that just about every other person in the room was either an engineer or in the tech field. We also had two aspiring teachers, one massage therapist/legal trainee, a Netflix employee, a certified public accountant, an aspiring lawyer, and I don’t remember what else! Oh right, and there was also an aspiring doctor because guess what…..

I’M GOING TO MEDICAL SCHOOL!!!!!  The school is right here in the Northern California, an added bonus, and the program is excellent. In four years, I will become a physician! :) More on that later, but just had to tell you guys the great news!

CIMG3328

Cornbread

CIMG3330

Awesome cucumber thingies

CIMG3331

A fun display of sweets

CIMG3332

More interesting goodies

CIMG3334

Hot chocolate cupcakes, my favorite treat of the night!

Just realized that I forgot to take any actual dinner photos, these were just the appetizers and dessert. (I guess I was too busy eating the dinner…) Man, did those two ladies do a great job at throwing an excellent party! :) I’ll be taking some pointers for my next dinner party, including the lovely little cursive signs that explain what the food item in question is. A nice little touch!

6 Responses to “Dinner for 12 strangers”

  1. Bashar A. February 28, 2013 at 4:35 pm #

    Congrats on getting into Med School… when I was “young” I was torn between Med School & Engineering… I decided to play it safe and just do engineering which I don’t regret as I really enjoy it. When I go to a hospital though… I always think what if? I was to scared to apply because I didn’t want to get rejected!!!! :(
    I will live my other life vicariously through you then :p

    • luvnorcal February 28, 2013 at 5:12 pm #

      Haha thank you Bashar. The road to getting into medical school has been long, tiresome, irksome, and downright frustrating…but thankfully I have been reminded many times along the way about why I want to be a doctor, through my experiences in the hospital and with my research group. I’m glad to be starting school this August and really seeing what I’m made of…haha. It will be challenging and rewarding. I’m thinking of starting a separate blog about being a med student, but maybe I can just change this one, as I don’t expect to be cooking very often. But then again, I love food. We shall see!!

      • Bashar A. February 28, 2013 at 9:57 pm #

        Why not make this into a med school student’s “food” blog. Once in a while post how you had to dissect xyz but a few hours later had to eat abc (take pictures with your phone or anything)… share the whole journey of how you got desensitized :) hahaha

      • luvnorcal February 28, 2013 at 10:08 pm #

        Haha, that’s an interesting idea, but I don’t want to mix cadavers and food any more than I have to! I think I will create a separate blog, and hopefully my nice little audience here will follow me there :) Maybe I can save this one for my fun/food related moments, and the other one more med geared. I will have to make time to blog, I’m sure it will be stress release!

  2. Wesley Butler February 28, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

    Congratulations on getting into medical school! I really hope you enjoy it, learn a lot, and live your dreams.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

