Chickpea and Potato Curry

16 Feb

Chickpea and Potato Curry

Dear WordPress friends, it’s been too long! I’m here today to share a recipe for an Indian vegetarian dish that I made this past Wednesday. My mom wrote the recipe and wanted me to test it out to make sure it could be followed by a cook who is new to Indian cooking (i.e. me). As it turns out, my mom forwarded my blog information to a woman at her hospital who is putting together a cookbook with recipes from employees and their family. An “Employee Recipe Book” essentially, to raise money for the March of Dimes foundation. (Just as background, my mom is a pharmacist.) I’m excited to  have my recipes be part of a cookbook! They requested an Indian recipe from us as well, and so that’s why my mom wrote this recipe and had me test it out. I was happy to have another push to learn to make some yummy Indian food. :)

This Chickpea and Potato Curry is vegetarian and very, very healthy. It is packed with protein and full of flavorful spices, including a nice addition of ginger and garlic. (You could always make a ginger-garlic paste to use in recipes like this. I used one that my dad had made earlier in the month.) Fat content is very minimal. This dish can be enjoyed on its own with a side of plain yogurt, over a bed of rice, or with roti. I’ve been trying to cut carbs from my diet lately, so I just had it on its own with the yogurt. It’s very tasty! Sometimes if I have mini pita pockets in the fridge, I also pack one with my lunch so I can dip it into the curry. This is a nice option if you don’t want to make roti. 

Chickpea & Potato Curry

2 medium boiled & peeled potatoes (cut into bite-sized pieces)

2 (14oz) canned chickpeas, rinsed and drained

4 cups water (add more water if thinner curry is desired)

3 tbsp vegetable oil

1 large onion, chopped

2 tbsp tomato paste

2 tsp crushed ginger

2 tsp crushed garlic

1/2 tsp red chili powder (1 tsp for spicy)

1 tsp ground turmeric

2 tsp coriander-cumin powder

2 tsp garam masala

2 tsp toasted cumin seeds, powdered (optional)

2 tsp salt

½ cup chopped cilantro

  1. In a medium pot, heat oil over high heat. Add chopped onions, lower heat to medium, and sauté until golden brown.
  2. Add tomato paste, ginger, garlic and stir it into the browned onions. Next add chili powder, ground turmeric, coriander-cumin powder, garam masala and toasted, ground cumin seeds (optional). Mix vigorously until well-combined and cook for a couple of minutes. Do not let mixture stick to bottom of pot.
  3. Add both cans of rinsed and drained chickpeas and the bite-sized potatoes to the above mixture in the pot.
  4. Stir until everything is mixed well together.
  5. Add salt and four cups of water and bring to boil. Once it starts boiling, lower heat, cover (not completely, leave small space for steam to escape), and let simmer for an additional 10 minutes.
  6. Garnish with chopped cilantro and remove from heat.

*You can dry toast the cumin seeds in a skillet and then powder in a mortar and pestle, or in a grinder. This is an optional ingredient.

*Deep is a good brand for coriander-cumin powder and garam masala (available from any Indian grocery store).

Chickpea and Potato Curry

5 Responses to “Chickpea and Potato Curry”

  1. techie2mom February 18, 2013 at 9:36 pm #

    Looks really delicious…Try them with Kulcha, heavenly combination….

  2. Bashar A. February 19, 2013 at 9:36 am #

    Saved this to my Evernote… need to give this a shot sometime :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Recipes, cookbooks, and future directions | Living for the next meal - March 24, 2013

    [...] at my mom’s hospital. In addition to this one, I also had recipes for Chicken Enchiladas and Chickpea and Potato Curry printed in this employee cookbook. All the recipes are signed off with my name and “Daughter [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers

